An Acquired Taste

Remember the first time you drank coffee?  I don’t — but I’m fairly confident that my reaction to its taste wasn’t much different from the reaction of these kids.  Of course, the fact that it was terrible vending machine coffee didn’t help.  I only drank coffee in college because it helped me stay awake.  Now I enjoy its taste, although I’m no coffee connoisseur.

I do remember the first time I tasted a beer.  My Dad let me drink a sip when I was about 10.  I thought it would be super cool to do it, but it was about the most awful stuff imaginable.

My taste buds have adjusted somewhat since then.

Leave a Reply

