Dining Alone

If you travel on business, there will be plenty of times when you dine alone.  It’s part of the job.   Every hardened traveler has to come up with his or her own way of dealing with that reality.

Some people hate going to restaurants alone.   They’ll get room service rather that sit at a table where people can see that they’re flying solo.  Not me!  I like to get out, and really look for opportunities to be part of the madding crowd.  So I’ll ask the hotel receptionist for a recommendation for a nearby restaurant, and when I get there I’ll ask the waiter to recommend a dish or two.  I’ll take my book and sit at the bar or a small table in the cocktail lounge, feel the bustle around me, and happily read as I am forking down my food.

I’d rather have company, of course, but dining alone beats sitting in a generic hotel room any day.

Leave a Reply

