A Matter Of Degrees

The annual Webner Thermostat War has begun again.

The traditional summer armistice, when the parties have reached a prolonged truce on a suitably cool household temperature during the warm-weather months, is over.  The first salvo in this year’s contest was fired last night, after an ugly, wet, cold afternoon that turned into a wet, cold night.  When I turned in, the thermostat was set at a pleasant 69 degrees.  At 2 a.m., however, I awoke to a stuffy, overly warm room.  I padded downstairs to discover that the thermostat had been dialed up to an unearthly, sweltering 73 degrees.  Of course, I then nudged it back down to a slumber-friendly 69 again.

The parties will do battle over the thermostat settings constantly during the next few months, trying to find that happy medium where Kish is not too cold and I’m not too hot.  (Kasey, not being able to manipulate the thermostat, doesn’t get a say.)  The battlefield is over a matter of only a few degrees, and the fighting is focused almost exclusively on the nighttime hours — but when you’re talking about personal sleep comfort zones, fine gradations in temperature seem to make all the difference in the world.  I’ll happily throw another blanket on the bed to deal with cool temperatures, but I simply cannot get a good night’s sleep if the room is even a few degrees too hot.

Now that the War has started again, I guess it’s time to start thinking about my next offensive.

