We’re Number 44

When I saw this article  today about the happiest states survey it fit in well with my current not so scientific survey I’ve been doing. Ohio comes in at number 44, which doesn’t surprise me much because for the average Ohioan things these days are not so great.

I’ve recently read a few books and articles on happiness so decided to start my own survey on happiness. Basically, I just ask people I know or work with on a scale of one to ten, ten being very very happy and one being not very happy at all, where do they put themselves. Most of the people fall in the 5 to 6 range with a few much higher and a few much lower. 

Once they tell me where they are I ask them what they would like to make them happier. Typically what follows is if the person I am asking is a woman and she’s not happy it’s because she doesn’t have a man, so she wants a man and thinks that is going to make her happy. If I am asking a man and he’s not happy it is typically because of the money he is making or his dislike of his current job.

I checked The Journal Science website and looks like the research that was to be posted today has not yet been posted, so more to come at a later date.

Leave a comment