The (Last) Penny Chronicles

My name was Penny.

I’m not sure where I am now, but for some reason I don’t mind.  I was in pain, but now I don’t feel any pain at all.  My legs ached, and my belly hurt so bad I could barely stand it, and I couldn’t eat at all.  Now all of that is gone.

IMG_0323The last thing I remember is getting a big hug and a kiss from the Leader.  I will always remember the loving look on her face and how good that hug and kiss made me feel.  Then I closed my eyes because I was sleepy, and the pain was gone.  Everything was gone.  And I moved on to this new place.

I will miss the Leader, and Kasey, and the Young Masters who played with me and gave me treats.   I will even miss the old boring guy.  Poor Kasey will have to keep an eye on him now.  I hope that I will meet up with them all again some time.  But for now I feel happy and contented, like I’ve just eaten the best meal I’ve ever had. I feel warm, like a puppy in the sunshine, and protected, like I am still nestled against my mother’s fur.  I think I may find her here.

I am in a good place now, and I feel like I am moving and heading in some direction that will be even better.  I am eager to find out.

4 thoughts on “The (Last) Penny Chronicles

  1. Shedding real tears again for a pup I never met. I am so sorry for this sad loss, but glad dear Penny is no longer in pain. Thank you, Bob, for sharing her with us in such a sweet and funny way over the years. I will miss seeing life through her eyes.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your touching treatment of Penny’s passing, Bob. The loss of a four-legged family member, I know all too well, is heartbreaking. I feel for you and wish you the best under the circumstances.

    Like

Leave a comment