Spam, Spam, Spam, And Spam

WordPress, which publishes our humble blog, provides a program that detects “spam” comments and segregates them from apparently legitimate comments.  Every once in a while you need to go into the spam folder and clean it out.  That is one of my jobs.

Most spam is self-evidently spammy.  The less inventive spam will just give a reference to a sex website.  Other times the would-be spammer tries to write something sufficiently generic that you conceivably might think it was written about your posting — if you were desperate enough for comments.  Here’s an example:  “Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really understand what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my site =). We will have a link change contract among us.”  Huh?  Like this example, most spam probably was originally written in Croatian and then translated, badly, into English.  The words are familiar, but the sentences may as well have been written by chimps randomly stringing words together.

I always think of the classic Monty Python spam song as I am doing my spam deletions:

5 thoughts on “Spam, Spam, Spam, And Spam

  1. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a
    lot. I was seeking this certain information for a very
    long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

Leave a comment