The 4 Ts

If you’ve ever gone to a jewelry store to buy any kind of diamond item, you know that the salesperson inevitably is going to tell you about the “four Cs” of diamonds–color, cut, clarity, and carat–and then apply them in extolling the virtues of each item you are looking at and explaining their exorbitant price tags.

I’ve adopted the same alphabetic approach to develop my “four Ts” of steak–taste, texture, tenderness, and temperature.

Saturday night we went out to dinner with friends and I was in the mood for a good steak. We met at Third & Hollywood in Grandview, which fortunately had a ribeye special that I promptly ordered, as shown above. (I should point out that the actual special also included asparagus, but since I detest asparagus I got a double order of the mashed potatoes instead, which is why I have a Mount Vesuvius of delectable spuds on the plate).

The steak was absolutely delicious, and had the four Ts to a T. Ribeyes have lots of juicy flavor, thanks to their marbling, so the taste requirement was a lock-cinch. They’ve got a lot of texture, too, which I prefer to a softer cut of beef, like a filet. And as for the tenderness and temperature elements, the steak was perfectly cooked to medium-rare specifications, which meant it was done enough to cut and chew easily without entering into overcooked shoe leather territory.

In short, the steak was excellent. FYI, I did not finish the mound of potatoes, although I did give it my best effort. I enjoy haute cuisine, with its sauces and fancy preparation, but there are also times when you simply cannot beat steak and potatoes, and Saturday night was one of them.