It’s About Time

It’s hard to believe that, until this week, there were no busts or statues of African-American women in the Capitol. That all has changed with the unveiling this week of the bust of Sojourner Truth, who had a very interesting life (including giving a famous speech in my hometown of Akron, Ohio) and is certainly deserving of such recognition.

When Kish and I lived in D.C., I liked taking visitors to the Capitol and showing them the various sculptures in Statuary Hall. (The massive, black and gold statue of the muscular Hawaiian king Kamamahema (or however his name is spelled), with arm outstretched, was my favorite.) Interestingly, many of the statues in the Hall were of slaveowners of southerners who supported the institution of slavery. I think it’s about time that an abolitionist like Sojourner Truth is included, and I hope it is the first of many recognitions of the political, cultural, and literary contributions made by African-American women.

Walk Away Renee

In one of my recent searches through the library CD section I stumbled across Adieu False Heart by Linda Ronstadt and Ann Savoy, performing as the Zozo Sisters. I picked it up because I’ve loved Linda Ronstadt’s voice since college. Adieu False Heart is a fantastic CD, and Walk Away Renee is representative of the kinds of songs you’ll find on it — acoustic, simple, and pure in tone. This Youtube treatment also features some fine photography that will help everyone get ready for the spring flowers that will be brought by our April showers.