Sunset Crash

It seems like forever, but it’s only been a day and a half, give or take, since I slept in a bed.  But now, with my brain quickly moving into the “nimble as concrete” mode, it’s time to rectify that.  The view looking from my hotel room is fine, but right now I’d just as soon look at the inside of my eyelids.

Mission Completed

Amazingly, there were no delays, cancellations, of other issues that wrecked my carefully calibrated, four-city overnight jaunt across the U.S.A.  I landed in NYC on time and am now enjoying a cup of coffee and a distant view of the Statue Of Liberty.  My eyes feel like they were rolled around in wet sand, but I’m otherwise not the worse for wear.

Logan Airport, 5:07 a.m.

At 5:07 a.m. at Logan Airport in Boston, where red-eye flights have just dropped off their loads of bleary-eyed cross-country travelers, the lines at Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts are long.  As the would-be customers try to clear their heads and vow to never, ever take a red-eye flight again, their very willingness to wait in line testifies that a hot cup of freshly brewed coffee is just what is needed to kick-start the morning and make the bedraggled traveler feel a little bit less like a grit.