The Power Of Choice

Following up on UJ’s post, below:

I have to admit that I am a bit offended by what seems to be the Republican “talking points” approach to the health care debate.  I am leery of apocyrphal or individualistic stories about how something affected one person, for good or ill.  The fact that a specific individual had a miserable experience with the Canadian or British health care systems — which seems to be the focus of many Republicans — doesn’t make much of a difference to me; obviously, miserable experiences happen here, too.  Anyone who has had to use our health care system much is bound to be able to cite an instance where the care wasn’t as good, or as quick, or as efficient as it ideally should have been.

To me, the more important question is about choice and control.  With a government system, you have neither; with our system, you have both.  If the doctor I am going to isn’t meeting my needs, I can go to another doctor and get a second opinion.  With some government health care systems, I don’t have that choice.  In our system, if I am facing a (literal) life or death decision, I get to make that decision, and I would rather make that decision myself than having some distant bureaucrat make the call.  When it comes to my health or the health of members of my family, I want some control.

Freedom is a wonderful thing.  Often, it also is more expensive, in blood or treasure, than the alternative.  Even so, I’m for freedom.

Healthcare in Canada or Healthcare in the U.S. Which is Better ?

Here’s an interesting video below on Canadian Healthcare ! Which would you prefer, borrowing $100,000 from family and friends to be treated in the United States or waiting for treatment in Canada where everything is free ?

http://money.cnn.com/video/news/2009/07/06/n_canada_healthcare.cnnmoney

I found it interesting that Mitch McConnell exaggerated the wait time for a knee replacement so this makes me wonder if we can believe anything he tells us about Healthcare. Can’t our politicians just give us the facts and let us decide ?

I’m a Big Fan of The Secret

I have to admit that I am a big fan of the book “The Secret”. I had a friend recommend it to me a year ago and it has made a difference in my life. The basic premise of the secret has to do with the law of attraction. Your thoughts become things ! If you think positive thoughts than positive things will come your way.

I currently text three friends each day with a tip from the book “The Secret”. Below are some of my favorites.

Ask, Believe and Receive what you want in life ! While doing this be happy with what you have and think about all of the good you already have in your life.

When you wake up in the morning say to yourself I am going to have a pleasant day today ! Your state of mind will drive whether or not you are going to have a good or a bad day.

If you don’t have enough money in your bank account or your relationships aren’t what you want or your health and fitness aren’t up to par these things are due to who you were. You need to change who you were to who you are !

Before you go to sleep at night replay your days events and if they didn’t go the way you wanted them to create in your mind how you wanted them to happen.

It is impossible to bring more good things into your life if you are feeling ungrateful about what you currently have because ungrateful feelings are negative emotions.

You can go after money and you might get rich, but it doesn’t guarantee you will be wealthy. Wealth comes from being happy in your relationships with your friends and your family.

Treat yourself the way you want others to treat you and always treat yourself with love and respect.

We are often taught to put ourselves last, but this is the wrong thing to do. By doing this we make yourselves feel unworthy and undeserving and we need to change that thinking.

If you have a relationship that is not working take a piece of paper and write down all the things you like about that person. Think about all the reasons that you love that person and like being around them. For example, if they are supportive of you, let them know it. By acknowledging their strengths you will get more from them.

People often look to others to create their happiness, but others don’t have the control to create your happiness, only you do !

Our body is a product of our thoughts ! All stress begins with negative thoughts.

Love, joy and gratitude eliminate negativity in our lives which makes it hard for illness to exist in a body that has harmonious thoughts.

Praise someone today as this causes you to emit a positive frequency and positive things will be attracted to you.

If we don’t love ourselves no one will and by doing this it will keep us from what we want ! When we talk about ourselves use the words “I am” as opposed to the words “I am not”.

Hope you have enjoyed these tips. If you want more tips than read “The Secret” yourself. It will be time well spent.